Men Asked To Give Up Seats For Women Reveals Everyday Sexism Faced By Men

If women want equality, and according to feminists both men and women are equal, then why do men have to give up seats for women? Why are seats reserved for women on DTC buses and in metros? Women’s sense of entitlement knows no bounds. Women want equality but they do not want to let go of their privileges, and equality is only applicable when it works in women’s favor.

The following is a transcript by a man who was travelling from Delhi to Pune. When a girl asked him to give up his lower berth and he refused, she threatened to call female helpline. She then complained to the TTE, below is their conversation:

TTE: Beta aap seat exchange kar lo madam se. Inhe lower berth chahiye. (You need to exchange your seat with the lady. She wants lower berth)

Me (perplexed): Lekin lower berth meri seat hai. Aap ticket pe seat number dekhiye. (The lower berth is mine. Please check the ticket again).

TTE: Vo mujhe maloom hai. Madam ko upar jane me dikkat hogi to aap apni seat inhe de dijiye. (I am aware of that. She might have trouble climbing up so its better you give your seat to her)

Me: Sorry, aap kisi aur lower berth vale se puch lo. (Sorry, can you ask someone else for the lower seat?)

Girl: Tumhe ek baar me samajh me nahi aata kya? Behre ho? (Are you deaf? Cannot you listen in one go?)

Me: Excuse me, but aap zara tameez se baat kariye. (Excuse me, but you need to check your tone)

TTE: Sahi bol rahin hain madam. Chaliye aap upar shift ho jaiye. (She is right. You need to exchange your seat now)

Me: Sorry Sir, mai bohot izzat se bat kar raha hu lekin mai upar nahi jaunga. (Sorry Sir, I am being as polite as I can but this is not happening. Not today.)

Girl: Mere legs me sprain hai. Itna bhi nahi samajh aata tujhe k mai upar nahi chadh paungi. (I have a sprain in my legs. Can’t you see that I wont be able to climb to the upper berth?)

Me: Excuse me, but I saw you enter the coach with your luggage all by yourself. You even tip-toed to put your stuff on the upper berth. Don’t make stories.

Some stranger: RPF (Railway Protection Force) me phone laga k utarvaiye iss ladke ko. Tameez nahi hai kaise baat krte hain ladkiyon se. (Someone call RPF and get this guy out of the train. He doesn’t even have manners to talk to a girl)

Some other stranger: Dikhta nahi akeli ladki hai. Itna samaan hai uske paas. (Can’t you see she is alone? She is carrying so much luggage)

Me: Samaan le kar upar nahi chadhna hai inhe. Aap kahe to mai niche apne saman ki jagah inka rakh leta hu. (She doesn’t need to climb with the luggage. She can keep it right here and I will move mine somewhere else)

Girl: I am going to call the female helpline right now. (She was seconded by many onlookers)

Me: Aapko jo karna hai kariye. (I turned towards the TTE) (Do whatever you wish to)

Me: Aur Sir aap. Mere father railways me hain. Senior Audit Officer. Aap agle station pe apne supervisor se baat kar lijiyega. Its illegal to force any passenger to leave their seat without any solid ground. Thank you. (And you Sir, my father is a Senior Audit Officer with the Railways. You will need to talk to your supervisor at the next stop. Its illegal to force any passenger to leave their seat without any solid ground. Thank you.

The TTE soon backed off after learning that Kanishk’s father is a Senior Audit Officer with the railways.

Also read: Men Are Second-Class Travelers On DTC Buses

Leave a Reply

